1/1

Memel / Klaipeda
 

Memel was once the northernmost city in Prussia. There is a water connection from the Curonian Lagoon, including the delta of the Memel River of the same name (Lithuanian Nemunas) to the Baltic Sea via the Memel Deep. From the city you can reach the unique landscape of the Curonian Spit in a few moments, which was declared a World Heritage Site by Unesco in 2000.

The landscapes of the Curonian Lagoon along the Memel were once home to Prussian-Baltic tribes. Christianity came to the area in the 13th century with the Livonian Brotherhood of the Sword. First, the Sword Brothers built a castle and a little later - in 1253 - the city of Memel. It is one of the oldest city foundations in East Prussia , in which merchants from Dortmund played a decisive role. In 1258, the young commune - mentioned as Memele castrum - was granted the town charter in the region, which is rare in the region.

In 1328 Memel came under the rule of the Teutonic Order. The oldest city seal from which the city coat of arms, which is still valid today, originates from the founding time. In the center you can see a tower of the Memelburg, which is secured by wooden beacons. A boat floats on the water in front of it,
underlining Memel's maritime connection to the Curonian Lagoon and the Baltic Sea.

F-1253 tenebris diagonale 1 rechts stahl f.png

When the Grand Master from Franconia, Albrecht von Brandenburg, from the younger line of Hohenzollern-Ansbach, was elected Grand Master in 1511, the Teutonic Order was politically at an end. Albrecht looked for new ways for his state, whereby he became increasingly enthusiastic about the teaching of the Reformation. Martin Luther himself advised him to transform the religious state into a secular duchy in 1525. Albrecht was the first hereditary duke in Prussia to swear the feudal oath of the Polish-Lithuanian crown, whose sovereignty he recognized.
 

Prussia was the first Protestant country in the world. In the spirit of the Reformation, Duke Albrecht promoted not only German but also the other languages of his duchy: Lithuanian, Polish and Prussian. During this time, the duchy gained great importance for science and literature. The early baroque Koenigsberg poets played a major role in German literature. One member, the poetics professor Simon Dach , came from Memel and created one of the most beautiful German love songs with Ännchen von Tharau.

Aennchen_von_Tharau.jpg

The Ännchen von Tharau

Finally, the Duchy of Prussia fell to the Brandenburg line of the Hohenzollern, whose Elector Friedrich III. crowned himself king in Prussia in 1701 in the Königsberg castle church. From this core Prussia - later East Prussia - the Prussian state emerged and gave it the name Prussia . Memel remained primarily a small port town, but its fortress continued to have important strategic importance for securing the Curonian Lagoon and the Memel estuary. With the Napoleonic Wars, however, Memel was suddenly on everyone's lips when the Prussian royal court and government had to flee here from distant Berlin.

Memel F 1253 PB K
Memel Hafen.jpg

View of the port

For a year Memel rose to become the secret capital, where the fate of the Prussian state, shaken by war and occupation, was conducted. During this time in 1807 the legendary meeting between Napoleon I and the Russian Tsar Alexander I took place upstream on the Memel, which culminated in the Peace of Tilsit. The Prussian King Friedrich Wilhelm III. and his wife Luise remained humiliated onlookers. Shortly after the liberation, Memel had 6,000 inhabitants.
 

In the middle of the 19th century an economic upswing began, which was particularly favored by the timber trade via the Memel from Lithuania and Belarus. The devastating fire in the city in 1854 meant a severe setback for development in the short term. In the German Empire, however, Memel made a brilliant comeback. The proud Jewish community , one of the largest in the province of East Prussia, also flourished during this time, which was later completely destroyed by the Nazi terror in 1939. In 1910 the town had 21,470 inhabitants , when Memel also benefited from the discovery of the Curonian Spit for tourism.

Simon Dach Brunnen.jpg

Simon Dach fountain

F-1253-T-S-frontal.png

Memel was the northernmost city in Prussia until 1920 and Germany since 1871. As a result of the Versailles regulations , the city has since been part of the Memel area under the mandate of the League of Nations. After the annexation by Lithuania in 1923, it was part of the republic with extensive autonomy status for the majority of the German population.

On March 22, 1939, the Memel area fell back to Germany under German pressure. At the end of the German era, Memel had over 43,000 inhabitants. The East Prussian civilian population was evacuated from the summer of 1944 or later fled the Soviet attack. On January 19, 1945, Soviet troops captured the city. From then on
Memel belonged to the Soviet Union as part of the Lithuanian Soviet Republic and since 1990 the city of Klaipėda - the old Lithuanian name - has belonged to the Republic of Lithuania as the westernmost city. 
Its eventful history ranges from a Baltic settlement to belonging to Prussia and the Soviet Union to the independent Republic of Lithuania, and since 2004 also as a member of the European Union. Today Memel has about 150,000 inhabitants.

As the most important seaport in Lithuania, Klaipėda is a pulsating metropolis with a university. The town honored her son Simon Dach with its landmark, the Simon Dach fountain , which was rebuilt in 1989 and is adorned by a figure of Ännchen von Tharau, whose history he made immortal.

The Ännchen connects all the people who live in this city -
whether Memel or Klaipėda - call it "home".

© Findeisen watches

Nationaldenkmal Memel.jpg

Kant-Monument

THE F-1253 IN ALL VARIANTS

THE PARTICULARLY SPORTY TOUCH

Discover our NATO straps and give your F-1253 a particularly sporty and summery look.

F-1253-blau-NATO-f.png
F-1253-tenebris-NATO-f.png

1/1

Memel / Klaipeda
 

Einst war Memel die nördlichste Stadt Preußens. Über das Memeler Tief besteht eine Wasserverbindung vom Kurischen Haff mitsamt dem Mündungsdelta des gleichnamigen Flusses Memel (litauisch Nemunas) mit der Ostsee. Von der Stadt aus erreicht man in wenigen Augenblicken die einzigartige Landschaft der Kurischen Nehrung, die von der Unesco im Jahr 2000 zum Weltkulturerbe gekürt wurde.
 

Die Landschaften am Kurischen Haff entlang der Memel waren einst Heimat prußisch-baltischer Stämme. Im 13. Jahrhundert gelangte mit dem Livländischen Schwertbrüderorden das Christentum in die Gegend. Zunächst errichteten die Schwertbrüder eine Burg und wenig später – 1253 – die Stadt Memel. Sie zählt damit zu den ältesten Stadtgründungen Ostpreußens, bei der Kaufleute aus Dortmund eine entscheidende Rolle spielten. 1258 wurde der jungen Kommune – als Memele castrum erwähnt – das in der Region seltene lübische Stadtrecht verliehen. 

1328 kam Memel zum Herrschaftsbereich des Deutschen Ordens. Aus der Gründungszeit stammt das älteste Stadtsiegel, aus dem das bis heute gültige Stadtwappen entstand. Im Zentrum erkennt man einen Turm der Memelburg, der von hölzernen Baken abgesichert wird. Auf dem Wasser davor schwimmt ein Boot, das
die maritime Verbindung Memels zum Kurischen Haff sowie zur Ostsee unterstreicht.

F-1253 tenebris diagonale 1 rechts stahl f.png

Als der aus Franken stammende Hochmeister, Albrecht von Brandenburg, aus der jüngeren Linie Hohenzollern-Ansbach, 1511 zum Hochmeister gewählt wurde, stand der Deutsche Orden politisch bereits am Ende. Albrecht suchte nach neuen Wegen für seinen Staat, wobei er sich zunehmend für die Lehre der Reformation begeisterte. Martin Luther selbst riet ihm, 1525 den Ordensstaat in ein weltliches Herzogtum zu transformieren. Albrecht leistete schließlich als erster erblicher Herzog in Preußen den Lehnseid auf die polnisch-litauische Krone, deren Oberhoheit er anerkannte.
 

Preußen war das erste protestantische Land der Welt. Im Geiste der Reformationen förderte Herzog Albrecht neben Deutsch auch die anderen Sprachen seines Herzogtums: Litauisch, Polnisch und Prußisch. In dieser Zeit erlangte das Herzogtum große Bedeutung für Wissenschaften und Literatur. Dem frühbarocken Königsberger Dichterkreis kam eine große Rolle für die deutsche Literatur zu. Ein Mitglied, der Poetik-Professor Simon Dach, stammte aus Memel und schuf mit Ännchen von Tharau eines der schönsten deutschen Liebeslieder.

Aennchen_von_Tharau.jpg

Das Ännchen von Tharau

Schließlich fiel das Herzogtum Preußen an die brandenburgische Linie der Hohenzollern, deren Kurfürst Friedrich III. sich 1701 in der Königsberger Schlosskirche selbst zum König in Preußen krönte. Aus diesem Kernpreußen – dem späteren Ostpreußen – ist der preußische Gesamtstaat hervorgegangen und hat ihm den Namen Preußen verliehen. Memel blieb in erster Linie eine kleine Hafenstadt, deren Festung jedoch weiterhin wichtige strategische Bedeutung zur Sicherung des Kurischen Haffs und der Memelmündung besaß. Mit den Napoleonischen Kriegen jedoch war Memel plötzlich in aller Munde, als der preußische Königshof samt Regierung aus dem fernen Berlin hierher flüchten musste.

Memel F 1253 PB K
Memel Hafen.jpg

Blick auf den Hafen

Ein Jahr lang stieg Memel zur heimlichen Hauptstadt auf, wo die Geschicke des von Krieg und Besatzung gebeutelten preußischen Staates geführt wurden. In dieser Zeit kam es 1807 auf der Memel stromaufwärts zur legendären Begegnung zwischen Napoleon I. und dem russischen Zaren Alexander I., die im Frieden von Tilsit mündete. Der preußische König Friedrich Wilhelm III. und seine Frau Luise blieben gedemütigte Zaungäste. Kurz nach der Befreiung zählte Memel 6.000 Einwohner.
 

Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts begann ein wirtschaftlicher Aufstieg, der vor allem durch den Holzhandel über die Memel aus Litauen und Weißrussland begünstigt wurde. Der verheerende Stadtbrand 1854 bedeutete kurzfristig einen herben Rückschlag für die Entwicklung. Im Kaiserreich gelang Memel jedoch ein fulminantes Comeback. Die stolze jüdische Gemeinde, eine der größten in der Provinz Ostpreußen, erlebte in dieser Zeit gleichfalls ihre Blüte, die später durch den NS-Terror seit 1939 vollständig vernichtet wurde. 1910 zählte die Stadt 21.470 Einwohner, als Memel auch von der Entdeckung der Kurischen Nehrung für den Fremdenverkehr profitierte.

Simon Dach Brunnen.jpg

Simon Dach Brunnen

F-1253-T-S-frontal.png

Bis 1920 war Memel die nördlichste Stadt Preußens und seit 1871 Deutschlands. Als Folge der Versailler Bestimmungen stand die Stadt seitdem als Teil des Memelgebiets unter dem Mandat des Völkerbundes. Nach der Annexion durch Litauen 1923 war es ein Teil der Republik mit weitgehendem Autonomiestatus für die mehrheitlich deutsche Bevölkerung.

Am 22. März 1939 fiel das Memelgebiet auf deutschen Druck zurück an Deutschland. Am Ende der deutschen Zeit zählte Memel über 43.000 Einwohner. Die ostpreußische Zivilbevölkerung wurde ab Sommer 1944 evakuiert oder floh später vor dem sowjetischen Angriff. Am 19. Januar 1945 eroberten sowjetische Truppen die Stadt. Fortan zählte
Memel als Teil der Litauischen Sowjetrepublik zur Sowjetunion und seit 1990 gehört die Stadt Klaipėda – so der alte litauische Name – als westlichste Großstadt zur Republik Litauen.

 

Ihre wechselvolle Geschichte reicht von einer baltischen Siedlung über die Zugehörigkeit zu Preußen, die Sowjetunion bis zur unabhängigen Republik Litauen, seit 2004 auch als Mitglied der Europäischen Union. Heute zählt Memel etwa 150.000 Einwohner.

Als wichtigster Seehafen Litauens ist Klaipėda eine pulsierende Metropole samt Universität. Ihren Sohn Simon Dach ehrte die Stadt mit ihrem 1989 wiedererrichteten Wahrzeichen, dem Simon-Dach-Brunnen, den eine Figur des Ännchen von Tharau ziert, dessen Geschichte er unsterblich gemacht hat.

Das Ännchen verbindet alle Menschen, die diese Stadt -
ob Memel oder Klaipėda – Heimat nennen.

© Findeisen Uhren
 

Nationaldenkmal Memel.jpg

Nationaldenkmal in Memel

DIE F-1253 IN ALLEN VARIANTEN

DIE BESONDERS SPORTLICHE NOTE

Entdecken Sie unsere NATO Bänder und verleihen Sie Ihrer F-1253 einen besonders sportlichen und sommerlichen Ausdruck.

F-1253-blau-NATO-f.png
F-1253-tenebris-NATO-f.png